Quiz Bowl and Vocal Ensembles Shine for Dell Rapids

NewDRLogoMembers of the Dell Rapids High School choir participated in a solo and ensemble contest held at Augustana University on Monday, March 12th.  Ten students made the trip to Sioux Falls, and those ten students performed in eight events.

The quartet of Kat Fletcher, Abby Stauffenecker, Jay Holm, and Mitchell Heinemann earned an excellent rating.  Alec Saxon and Heinemann earned a superior rating for their duet.  More impressive is the fact that Saxon was working on the duet with another student prior to the contest, but that student caught the flu and couldn’t perform.  Heinemann sight-sang the piece with Saxon.  Fletcher and Mercedes Lodmell earned a superior for their duet.  Chloe Fischer and Anna Symens earned an excellent rating for their duet.  Stauffenecker and Allison Hegg earned a superior in duet.  Lodmell earned a superior for her solo.  Peyton Gleason also earned a superior for his solo.  Stauffenecker earned an excellent on her solo performance.

The Dell Rapids Quiz Bowl Team One earned a second place finish at the Dak XII Conference quiz bowl meet on Monday, March 12th.  The team scored a total of 96 points in the competition.  Canton won the event with 119 points.  West Central placed third with 90 points.

Members of the quiz bowl team are Joey Abbott, Amy Meyer, Dylan Yetter, Matt Benda, Tayte Gleason, and Cooper Emery.

Share and Like this story:

Dell Rapids Students Shine in Events

NewDRLogoSeveral Dell Rapids students have performed well in their events over the past few days.

Olivia Clark qualified for the state oral interp competition in poetry with her performance at the region contest on Tuesday, November 15th.  Averi Pankonen qualified as an alternate in the oratory category.  The duet team of Tim Jaycox and Ella Lueders also qualified as an alternate.  Morgan Nemmers, Abby Stauffenecker, and Sage Shellum also had strong performances at the region competition.

The Dell Rapids quiz bowl team competed at Sioux Falls Roosevelt on Monday, November 14th.  The team of Joey Abbott, Micah Gleason, Justin Dorn, and Stephanie Dennis placed 13th out of 46 teams in the competition.  The other two Dell Rapids teams each earned two wins in the six-round competition.

Recently Cheyenne Adams placed first in the District FFA Ag Broadcasting event.  She will now advance to the state event which will be held in Pierre on December 4th and 5th.  Trevor Pulscher also competed in the Ag Broadcasting event and placed sixth.

Share and Like this story: