Dell Rapids Post 65 Baseball Earns Postseason Awards

DellsBaseballLogoDell Rapids Post 65 was crowned champion of the East River Baseball League with a perfect 10-0 record. Other teams included McCook/Minor (9-1), Garretson (4-4), Volga (4-5), Humboldt/Hartford (3-5), Lennox (3-4), Madison (3-7) and Colton (0-10).

Multiple Dell Rapids Post 65 Legion baseball players received postseason recognition due their contributions during the season.

Brett Mogen was named MVP for the East River League. Mogen had a .480 batting average and 11 RBI. He also was 3-0 as a pitcher with 29 strikeouts. He had an ERA of .98 in 18 1/3 innings.

Nate McKee earned the Silver Slugger batting award given to the top hitter. McKee led the league with a .581 batting average and drove in 18 runs.

Cole Gassman from McCook/Miner earned the Cy Young Award as the top pitcher in the league. He had a 2-0 pitching record in 20 1/3 innings while striking out 37 hitters. His ERA was 0.34.

Three Dell Rapids players participated in the State American Legion Baseball All-Star game August 1 in Clark, SD. Mogen, McKee and Josh Roemen were selected from nominations across the state as All-State players. Eric Klein and Casey Hansen were chosen as Honorable Mention All-State players.

Dell Rapids finished the season with a 20-4 record. Team members included Brett Mogen, Nate McKee, Josh Roemen, Keegan Miller, Eric Klein, Seth Andersen, Casey Hansen, Carter Gullickson, Elijah Story, Adrian Juba, Ethan Brobjorg, Logan Ruesink, Matt Gillogly, Tyson Dahler and Lealand Randel.

Share and Like this story: