Dell Rapids Legion Headed to State

The Dell Rapids Legion baseball team is headed to the 2017 Class B State Tournament in Winner on Friday, July 21st, through Tuesday, July 25th.  Dell Rapids claimed the District 2B title on Saturday, July 15th, in Volga.

Dell Rapids started the District 2B tournament with a 10-0 win over Madison on Tuesday, July 11th.  Dell Rapids scored seven runs in the third inning, two more in the fourth, and a run in the fifth to end the game on the 10-run rule.  Brett Mogen, Casey Hansen, Elijah Story, Carter Gullickson, and Seth Anderson all had hits in the game.  Gullickson finished with three RBIs, Story had two RBIs, and Anderson also drove home a run.  Mogen pitched four innings giving up just two hits while striking out six batters.  Gullickson worked one inning giving up one walk and struck out one batter.

Dell Rapids then defeated Volga 15-4 on Wednesday, July 12th, in the semifinals of the district tournament.  The game was tied 2-2 after two complete innings, and Dell Rapids led 4-3 after the third inning.  Dell Rapids, however, would score 11 times in the sixth and seventh innings to pull away for the win.  Eight Dell Rapids hitters collected hits in the game.  Nate McKee, Mogen, and Gullickson had two hits each.  Mogen and Gullickson drove in four runs each, while McKee added three RBIs.  Josh Roemen pitched a complete game giving up four runs, two earned, on nine hits while walking two batters and striking out seven.

Dell Rapids defeated Volga for a second time, this time in the championship game on Saturday, July 15th.  Dell Rapids used a seven-run second inning to propel them to a 9-4 victory and secure their spot in the state tournament.  Volga cut the lead to 7-4 after their half of the fourth inning, but Dell Rapids scored two times in the fifth inning to pull away for the win.  Roemen collected three hits for Dell Rapids, while Eric Klein, Miller, and Hansen each had two hits.  Klein also finished with two RBIs in the game.  Mogen pitched all seven innings for the win and collected 14 strikeouts in the game.

Dell Rapids will now head to Winner for the State B Tournament.  They will face Platte/Geddes (District 4B Champ) on Friday, July 21st, at 5:00 p.m. in the opening round of the tournament.


Back Row (from left) – Bruce Mogen, Brett Mogen, Eric Klein, Eddie Price, Tyson Dahler, Ethan Brobjorg, Keegan Miller, Elijah Story, Adrian Juba, Greg Gullickson

Front Row (from left) – Logan Ruesink, Casey Hansen, Nate McKee, Carter Gullickson, Seth Andersen, Jay Holm, Josh Roemen, Lealand Randel, Dan Miller

Share and Like this story: